The great grate

My last post hinted at a small change that may or may not be worth some panty-holding. Let’s explore that further.

IMG_3820

The second floor hallway has been empty of anything except walls, wood, and doors since move-in day almost two years ago. Three bedrooms and one bathroom open onto this hallway; all of those doors together with the massive stairway leaves zero room for furniture. Adding art would help dress-up the space without having to use furniture, but I’ve had severe over-analysis paralysis when it comes to figuring out what to hang on the walls. I like to blame part of that paralysis on one rather fragile plaster wall…but I am I kidding myself, it’s entirely due to my lack of decisiveness.

So I turned my eyes down (in shame?) and realized there was one thing I could make a decision on: the floor grate. I stared at it and it stared back at me, all modern metal eyesore against the old wood floors and trim work. A little bit of Brutalist in my Victorian home.

I’m all for mixing styles, but not when the result is ugly.

IMG_5748

The floor opening is luckily a standard size, and I was able to find this little replacement beauty at Lowe’s. Ah, that’s better, isn’t it?

IMG_5754

It was a simple matter of lifting out the old grate and inserting the new one. May be the easiest project I’ll ever tackle in this house.

IMG_5774

The geometric lines of the new grate lean a little Arts and Crafts instead of Victorian, but it’s a step in the right direction. Lowe’s also had a flouncy Victorian style available, but it felt lightweight and cheap. This one is heavy iron. I love that the matte metal finish looks similar to the original floor grates that are in other parts of the house.

Don’t believe me? See for yourself. This is the one in the dining room…

IMG_5769

…and this is the one in the living room.

IMG_5771

Convinced now? Yeah, I thought you’d agree after a little photographic evidence.

Let’s look at the new grate again. Just because it’s pretty and pretty things make me happy.

IMG_5774

The old grate will get donated to the local Habitat for Humanity Re-Store. Similar styles are still being sold at Lowe’s so I’m sure someone else can find it useful.

I have another project cooking right now, but nowhere near as simple as this one.

Leave a Reply

