Where Chevron Goes to Die

When I decided to go with peel and stick tiles in the kitchen, I wanted to make sure that they actually look like peel and stick tile. There’s peel and stick that looks like ceramic tile, like stone, like hardwood even. The stuff is creepily convincing.

Photo stolen from here

So convincing that it makes me want to get nose-to-nose with it for a closer look. Like when I see a remarkably green plant in the windowless waiting room at my dentist’s office. It makes me want to go right up and smell it to see if it’s real.

The last thing I need is a house guest to get nose-to-nose with my kitchen floor. Two cats, one dog, and two rather lackadaisical humans live in this house. The kitchen floor is best not viewed up close.

I looked high a low for really real-looking peel and stick tile. No luck at the big box stores, but I found perfection at Hood’s on Jefferson. I bought three boxes each of black and while tiles and started playing.

My first thought was to make black and white stripes, like this inspiration photo that I shared in an earlier post.

I did a dry run by laying out the tiles with the backing paper still on. The stripes didn’t look half bad, but the husband wasn’t as into them as I was.

Ignore my giant floating hand. It’s there to minimize distraction from the part of the floor without dry-run tile. Because a giant floating hand is less distracting than plywood subfloor.

I then tried a dry run with the stripes going the other way, but neither of us liked it.

Next was a test of a classic checkerboard pattern. The husband liked it, but to me it felt a bit too expected.

So the husband suggested I try a modified checkerboard pattern with a two-tile repeat.

Ding ding ding! Winner winner chicken dinner!

I loved his idea. It still has the graphic impact of stripes but without being obviously stripey. The dry run looked good from the opposite end too (looking from the kitchen into the dining room) so I decided to run with it.

And a few hours later I had this:

It was at this point that I realized, DUH, the modified checkerboard pattern is actually a CHEVRON pattern.

There’s been debate on the blogosphere that chevron is either awesome, overdone, classic, or dead. I don’t care. It’s new to my kitchen floor and I like it.

The tricky edges and corners of the new floor were finished over the weekend. I’ll take photos when I can get decent light. That’s the bad thing about a day job. It get’s in the way of taking blog photos.

2 thoughts on “Where Chevron Goes to Die

Leave a Reply

