Planning for the new kitchen floor

Underneath the kitchen’s plywood subfloor is the original hardwood flooring. Someday, in the distant future — like several years in the future — I would like to completely re-do the kitchen and refinish that original hardwood. In order to protect the hardwood until that time, the subfloor above it also needs to be protected.

So after things got real, I sat and thought about what I really needed and wanted from a kitchen floor

Primary needs:

  • Protection for the plywood subfloor.

Every other need is secondary to this primary need.

Secondary needs:

  • Cheap cheap cheap. No use spending big bucks when the long-term plan is to remove it.
  • DIM (Do It Myself). Makes the “cheap cheap cheap” criterion more feasible.
  • Easily installed.
  • Easily removed.

Wants:

  • Fun.

Not too much to ask for, right?

Porch paint was the first choice. This image in particular had me leaning in the paint direction.

Awwww, this painted floor comes with a cat.

But it seems that the former owner of our house also dealt with some wayward tiles. Instead of using that as excuse to pull up the whole thing (like me), he used industrial strength adhesive to re-stick them to the subfloor.

His tactic was effective…so effective that those few re-stuck tiles were a complete pain in the backside to remove. The adhesive he used left a super sticky residue, making it impossible to scrape off. I would have had to use some sort of chemical stripper to remove the stringy, sticky adhesive. And that would have violated Secondary Need #2 (cheap cheap cheap) and Secondary Need #3 (easily installed).

Also, I’m lazy and didn’t want to deal with it.

Tell me I’m not the first homeowner to feel like this?

So instead of porch paint, I went with my second choice: peel and stick tiles.

Yes, you read that correctly. Peel and stick tiles. Oh the shame. The tacky, tasteless, shame.

I’ve already started peeling and sticking. And I love it. Absolutely love it. There’s no shame here. None whatsoever.

2 thoughts on “Planning for the new kitchen floor

  1. This would be a great alternative. If one tile gets messed up, peel it up and just replace it. Can't wait to see your before and after pictures! Pam, I feel like I'm watching a HCTV show when I read your blogs. Love, love love them!!

Leave a Reply

