A new blog…why?

Welcome to This Hipp Life! My intent with this blog is to document the experiences my husband and I have while living in, improving, and personalizing our new house in St. Louis. Well, actually, our house is quite old, but it is new to us. The house was built in 1885 and we moved in August 2010.

Here’s our house, inexplicably decorated with both Christmas wreaths and a Halloween pumpkin.

Oh house, I love you!

There are about 11 million* home and DIY blogs already in existence. So why create another one here? Well, let me tell you:

1. One of my goals for this year was to start a blog. I used to have a blog that was dedicated to knitting and other crafts, but quickly found that I didn’t knit or craft enough to provide content for that blog. In order to do that, I would have to quit my job and never sleep. Hi, totally not feasible. But I found that I miss the blogging experience…taking photos, writing, and reflecting on what I created. So a new blog it is, but this time with a wider scope than just knitting and crafts. Let’s hope I can find enough interesting stuff to post about this time around! (If you’re curious about my projects circa 2007, check out Hipp Crafts.)

2. My husband and I live in St. Louis, which is not where either of us grew up. Our families and old friends all live far away. I figured a blog would be an easy way to share what we’re up to with them, while allowing us to go into more depth than we could through Facebook or Twitter.

3. Home and DIY blogs are my crack. I could spend hours reading them and gaining inspiration for my own house. I want to manufacture my own crack to share with all of you. (Okay, so highly-addictive drugs is perhaps not the best analogy for this blog. Must remember to use other terms in the future.)

4. Our house is old, crooked, and very special, at least in our eyes. Documenting the changes we make to it through a blog will be like lovingly creating a scrapbook, but without all the frilly paper. I want to remember our experiences in, around, and related to this house. Blogging about it seems like a great way to do that.

5. St. Louis is turning out to be way more interesting that I imagined it. As a California girl, I never dreamed I would be living here. There is so much life, hope, and potential in St. Louis. I’d like to put a spotlight on the city so that other outsiders, like me, realize how cool it is.

Thanks for taking time to read this blog. I’ll do my best to keep it interesting. Is there anything in particular you’d like to see in my next post? Tell me in the comments!

* I made up this number. It is not intended to be a factual statement.

Leave a Reply

